Feb. 20, 2013 – Exhibit Text and Images, and the Historiographical Essay

I have had a pretty productive week.  I finished drafting my text for my online exhibit, got it proof-read and made edits.  I also have a complete set of images that will accompany the text in the exhibit. 

I have decided to introduce my exhibit with some information about Rose Fortune.  She was a Black entrepreneur in Nova Scotia during the 1800s and there is a nice watercolour painting of her.  I am going to conclude with some information about Dr. Carrie Best who was a journalist and author from the 1900s, also from Nova Scotia.  This makes it sound like I am focusing on Nova Scotia, but I actually also have images from British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario, Quebec, and New Brunswick.  As well, I have some maps and diagrams.

So, at this point, I am ready to start posting stuff online.  I just need now to confirm whether I will be using Omeka.net or Omeka.org.  I can always stay with the .net product.  It just won’t be as flexible for presenting my information.

I also made a start on my historiographical essay.  I have cut and pasted my notes into a roughly correct order, according to the outline that we discussed earlier, and now need to go back and turn it into a real essay.  I am missing some examples – good evidence and proof of some parts of my argument – that I still need to go back into my sources to find.

So this week will be devoted to my essay and to confirming the exhibit software product.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Feb. 20, 2013 – Exhibit Text and Images, and the Historiographical Essay

  1. Good day! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring
    a blog article or vice-versa? My site discusses a
    lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to shoot me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Fantastic blog by the way!

    • Hi,
      Thanks for your kind words. I am not sure how I will proceed with this blog. I will be taking a break from it over the next month and may pick it up again in May, depending on my workload. Good luck with yours.
      Allison

  2. Hi there, I found your site by means of Google even as searching for a comparable matter, your website got here up,
    it looks good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply turned into aware of your weblog through Google, and located that it’s
    truly informative. I am going to be careful for brussels.
    I’ll appreciate should you proceed this in future. Numerous other people will probably be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

