Film Treatment Done – Thu January 22, 2015

The big accomplishment for this week was getting the Film Treatment completed and submitted for review.  It’s an important step, since it is the guide that will drive the whole editing process.

I still need to complete three interviews, and portions of the transcripts from those will need to be inserted into the Treatment, but they will not materially alter the flow of the film.  And each of the three interviewees remaining has seen the Concept Proposal, so they know the general arguments for the film.  I had some feedback from Adrienne Shadd to that end, and have included her input in the Treatment.

I have also done a bit of reading this past week that seems relevant to my project, concerning the Cultural Turn.  While already I’ve mentioned the emergence of Social History in the 1970s, the Cultural Turn also emerged at that time, examining the individual over the collective, and ideas of self-understanding.  This idea seems to complement some of the things that Judith Butler wrote about gender as a construct, and my expansion of that notion to include race as a construct.  Clifford Geertz’s writing on the subject of “culture as text” is instructive, regarding the problematization of culture as we would problematize text.  He also examines the use of symbols as a way of understanding cultures with limited or no archival presence – something I talk about in the film.  Perhaps this is something for me to consider in my Reflection paper about cultural symbols, archival gaps, and the problematizing of cultures as texts.

My plan to meet with Rose-Gabrielle about her role as voice actor for the Mary Ann Shadd character didn’t take place.  RG was sick and we have yet to reschedule, but that is on my to-do list for the coming week.

I don’t yet have the final versions of the music, but that is not urgent, and I’ve told Jenna, the pianist as much.

And I didn’t hear back regarding the request that I put in with LAC, but I think with my own research and also some very nicely offered input from Dr. Miller’s wife, Mary Margaret, who is an LAC archivist, I have what I need.

So this coming week I plan to reschedule with Rose Gabrielle, confirm my interview plans in Toronto, and go through the Treatment to find any images and sound clips that I am going to need and don’t already have.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

